The Side Effects of Living

If you have an incurable disease, and lets face who doesn’t these days, you’ll understand this post.  I have Rheumatoid Arthritis.  That’s my disease.  Earlier in life I was blessed with stomach ulcers and Kidney infections.  When I hit mid-life a freak of the body lead to the discovery of a benign tumor that reeked havoc in said body.   Now I have RA.

Here is the thing about my chronic crap.  It will not kill me but maybe make me want to kill myself (pain sucks ya’ll).  And although I fight with it on a regular basis it will not win over my being.  I used to complain about it but no one really cares and unless you have experienced it first hand you couldn’t understand.  I belong to a support group with people like me and that helps a lot.  My family is sympathetic and try to be helpful but really there isn’t anything they can do for me and I love them for trying.  Like with most things that happen to us we are alone to deal with the actuality of it all.

Today is a flare day.  My body is betraying me once again and I just suck it up and move on because I have too.  It’s just that simple.

You know what keeps me going kids?  I know two people who live day-to-day never knowing if this is the last.  They embrace life and squeeze every last drop of its greatness because of their health issues.  My RA is nothing in comparison to their struggles.  I’m in awe of them every single day.  And that is how I can move through the pain and frustration to make it through today!

Quote of the Day:

“Red meat is not bad for you.  Now blue-green meat…that’s bad for you!” ~ Tommy Smothers

Leave a comment