I Need To Read More!

Yes…I need to read more.  All the TV Shows are back on with new episodes and I’ve been sucked back into watching.  Also, we recently purchased season 1 & 2 of Blossom.  So when I’m not watching other shows or On-Demand to catch up on Downton Abbey, Ghost Hunters or Chopped I’m watching Blossom (which I’m loving!).  My Reading has kind of come to a halt over the last three weeks.

I started out so well this year.  I read 7 books in just a couple of weeks.  Then I started two books that made me come to a screeching halt.  “I Killed Hemingway” and “Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief” and that is were it got dicey.  I just couldn’t get into either of these books.  The first one I thought would be funny and also I LOATH Hemingway (exception was the Moveable Feast) so the title just popped out at me.  It started out well but then…I don’t know what happened.  The second book…Percy Jackson was recommended in the feign of “If you liked Harry Potter you will like the Percy Jackson series”.  It’s not the same.  The style is completely different.  Where J.K. Rowling grabbed my interest immediately and just held me there I felt the tiniest distraction could take me away from Percy’s story, and it did.

I do not completely give up on books.  I will eventually finish these two (It took me 10 years to finish Contact by Carl Sagan but I did!) but I had to move on.  I went to one of my stand-by authors.  My big three are Tess Gerritsen, Michael Crichton and Kathy Reichs, I go to them when I need a jump-start.  The problem with this method is that there are only a fininte number of titles to read.  I have read almost all of Tess’s books.  I’m down to the last 4 from her early writing.

I started to read “Bloodstream” and like always I am hooked.  I don’t want to stop reading but sleep and work seem to get in the way, lol.  I love how she writes and the characters are engaging.  If you’ve never read Tess I recommend starting with a Rizzoli and Isles book.  I loved “Ice Cold” but you might want to start with “The Surgeon”.  They are very engaging.

Fingers crossed this jump-start will keep me going.  I love to read but with so many distractions lately it seems to go to the wayside and that annoys me most of all!

What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

