And There Is Hope…

Yesterday the U.S. Supreme Court made two rulings that mark the beginning path that would allow me to legally wed my wife.  It was a good day in America yesterday.  I read some very interesting comments from people linked to the news stories online.

GaySupremeCourt

One of the comments was “the majority of people in California voted for Prop 8 and their vote should count.”  What this person doesn’t get is that Court is supposed to protect the minority from the whims of the majority.  One rebuttal to this comment was “what if the majority voted to strip men of the right to vote?  After all,  women out number men in our country.  How would you feel about losing the right to vote?”  This comment made the point I’ve tried to explain to people who do not understand what this decision means to the LGBTQ community.

Marcie&Patty

In the State that I live in I am denied the legal right to marry based only one the factor, that I love a woman and not a man.  I can be fired from my job based only on the fact I am a lesbian.  In my state we are denied any projection under the law afforded to those whose only distinction is being opposite sex.

The argument of Religion isn’t valid in the law or my rights under the law.  That is why we have the ideology of separation of church and state.  If I choose to not marry in a church that is my choice or if the church declines my request to marry in their establishment that is their choice.  Denying me THE RIGHT and as it stands now THE PRIVILEGED to marry through contract supported by the government’s issue of a marriage license flies in the opposition of the true spirit of law.

969331_374667055972747_1467101020_n

I have never found myself in the position of having anyone’s marriage affect my life other than that of my parents.  I say to those who would spend hundreds of millions of dollars to suppress my rights based only on personal opinion and not legal fact…please stop.  Your money would better serve your God and your community by being put to feeding the poor, creating a better life for the elderly or disabled not on dictating to others how they should live the life you think you lead.

Leave a Reply

