Drunks Want Geeks To Join Their Cause

Okay at least that’s what I’m getting from the story in Philadelphia about the Beer Week party wanting to join forces with the Comic-Con weekend.  They share a weekend every year and wouldn’t it be awesome and fun if they just merged the two events into one big event?  Um no…no it wouldn’t.

First off as a self-declared Geek I’m not a big drinker.  Don’t get me wrong I appreciated a good beer.  I love beer in fact but what I don’t like is getting drunk and having a hangover.  There is no fun in that for me.

What I envision from the merge is a bunch of Drunken A-holes picking on my fellow Geeks who dress up in costume for a good time at the Con.  I love these people and I love that they get dressed up and in some cases take a bus or a train to the event and ride out the stares and the snickers so that they can just cut loose Comic-Con style with their peeps!  Lets add drunken fools into a mixture of my people.  You know, because drunks are always sweet in demeanor and never are mean or mean-spirited while under the influence of their drink or their drunken peers.

This too me is a recipe for disaster.  The one’s pushing this merger aren’t the Comic-Con people it is the Beer Week group. They would like to increase their numbers using the people who attended the Comic-Con.

“It would be a lot of fun,” says Philly Beer Week Executive Director Don Russell, who has his own alter ego — a local beer superhero known as Joe Sixpack. “I think we could really come up with some really killer beer-drinking event with comic book fans.”

Seriously I’m supposed to just take Don Russell’s word he dresses up as Joe six-pack (He doesn’t actually say anything about dressing up in the article just that he has an alter ego.)?  I have dressed up in a Batman Costume for all the world to see.  I’m proud of my outfit.  My hood is a little too big but I can work with it.  So Don here’s my picture…where is yours????

I Am Batman

I Am Batman

To conclude I dress up like superheros, play with action figures, collect comic books and live the dream all without doing a pub crawl.  BOOM!

One response

  1. Janet Rörschåch | Reply

    “I’m actually ten years old.” HA!

Leave a Reply

