A Shout Out To The Great-Great

Yesterday passed unnoticed by me.  I wasn’t thinking about it but today I remembered.  On May 8, 1864 my Great-Great Grandfather died at the Battle of Laurel Hill in Virginia his name was John Ferris and he was survived by his wife Ellen and their children.  The Civil War affected everyone.

JohnFerrisirishninthinbivo00macn_0287

I keep thinking, I wish I had a photo of him.    The above page is taken from The Irish Ninth in bivouac and battle; or, Virginia and Maryland campaigns which was written in 1867 by Michael MacNamara.

Sometimes it is just important to keep their memory alive…this is one of those times.

Leave a Reply

