FOSP: It’s Not Called French Onion Soup

We went to a new restaurant that had some tasty morsels to offer.  As you know I’ve been in search of the bestest French Onion Soup in the world.  If it’s on the menu when we go someplace new I get it.  The new place is called “The Metropolitan”.

2013-02-23 13.27.04

They do not call this FOS at the Metropolitan.  They call it Truffled Five Onion Soup.  I found it to be a fancy name for French Onion Soup.  But I digress.

2013-02-23 13.09.56

The soup was delicious.  It had all the standard fair of FOS but with the slightest bit of mushroom in it.  Thankfully it didn’t overrun the taste of the Onion Soup part.

2013-02-23 13.30.23
The flavors were all there and it had the bread at the bottom like FOS with the melted cheese on top.  I’m going to give this a 4-star rating out of 5.  I ordered other food but after having the Onion Soup and the wedge blue cheese salad I was quickly filling up.

2013-02-23 13.19.11
They make their own Blue Cheese Dressing which was very nice.  I’m not a fan of BC but I will always give it a try even if I don’t like it and have to pick it off the salad.  It’s part of my process.

2013-02-23 13.27.12
Wonder Woman and Bean got the fried pickles.  It’s like their FOSP.  They liked them but felt the pickles were cut to thick and had just a touch too much breading.  But over all they enjoyed them.

2013-02-23 13.37.45
My main course was a flatbread cheesesteak with the best fries I’ve ever eaten.  I was extremely filled by my soup and salad choice that I didn’t really eat my sandwich then.  I brought it home and reheated it for lunch.  It was very good.  It was an interesting take on the Philly Cheesesteak.

2013-02-23 13.38.04
Bean really enjoyed her Pulled-Pork sandwich with a side of sweet potato fries.

Wonder Woman got the Grilled Reuben sandwich also with sweet potato fries.  I loved that the menu read like the food list on Chopped.  Very cool 😉    We enjoyed all of our picks.  My only comment would be that I need to go back so that I can actually eat my food there, lol.  I get too filled to quickly, lol.

Leave a Reply

