It’s Like Disneyworld But with Fewer Lines

Whenever the wife and I want a pick me up we go book shopping.  We’ve got so many books at our house that I have to live forever so I can read them all.

I Like Books

I Like Books

There is something about the smell of books.  The texture of them.  Some have course pages, while some have that thin almost tissue-like quality to them.  I like these most of all.  The delicate touch they invoke when turning the page to the next moment in the story.

IMG_6796 (400x300)

Sometimes people just give us a box of books. Free is always exciting 😉

Yesterday we went to Barnes and Noble.  I know the books are more expensive here but we were laden with Christmas gift cards and ready to discover something new.  I chose two books that were mentioned in other books I’ve read.  The First book is a combination of two books by Nathaniel “Pep” West (Miss Lonelyhearts & The Day of the Locust).  I discovered this book from Lillian Hellman’s “An Unfinished Woman”.  She said that it was the best book she read about the Hollywood.  She does mention “The Last Tycoon” by F. Scott Fitzgerald as an offer to that time in Hollywood but as it was an unfinished piece when he died it makes me wonder what he had envisioned for the whole story.  Was it edited at all and if so did the original intention of the story change from F. Scott’s vision?    The second book I got was “The Naked and the Dead” by Norman Mailer.  I’ve wanted to read a book by Norman Mailer for some time.

Before I can tackle either of these books I need to finish the one I’m reading now which is State of Fear by Michael Crichton.

Leave a Reply

