Dear Abby…You’re Gone and I’m Sad…

Dear Abby,

I read you died today.  You will be missed.  I hope those on the other side take some of your advice.

Signed,
Sorry You Died

I read the news today that Pauline Friedman Phillips died.  I was sad.  Many would know her by her more famous name…Abigail Van Buren (AKA Dear Abby).  She was 94 and suffered with Alzheimer’s Disease.

abby
Growing up I always went to her column (or twin sister Ann Landers) first.  Even before reading the comics.  I love to see what was plaguing the masses and was always intrigued by her advice.  I didn’t always agree with it but I found it interesting.  I’ll never forget The Brady Bunch show’s homage to Dear Abby with the episode that featured “Dear Libby”.  So many years of advice, so many fond memories.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

