Men Are Sometimes Ridiculous

So men like to think they are in control.  They like to think they are the superior gender.  Conservative men are the worst with this stuff. I was reading the news and two articles made me roll my eyes.  First it was Fox and Friends, with the female host walking off the set after her male sidekick made a misogynistic comment about women.  Whether it was in jest or not is regardless.  She was right to leave.  He was being a jackass and thought he was hysterical.  Also I’m sure if it wasn’t for the women who clean his house and make his food and clean his clothes he would come to work naked or wrinkled.

The other article was a story about the Michigan legislature.  They were arguing legislation on abortion.  One congress woman used the word Vagina in a flip remark to the Speaker (“Mr Speaker, I’m flattered that you’re all so interested in my vagina, but ‘no’ means ‘no,'” she said.).  The other wanted to introduce an amendment regulating vasectomies.  Which if you regulate one you must regulate both.  After all it’s only fair.  Rep. Lisa Brown had a point in this excerpt:

Another Republican, Nashville, MI, representative Mike Callton, added: “What she said was offensive. It was so offensive I don’t even want to say it in front of women. I would not say that in mixed company.”

Brown expressed her incredulity at the ban at a quickly arranged press conference. “If I can’t say the word vagina, why are we legislating [on] vaginas?” she asked. “What language should I use?”

To clear up any lingering confusion, she noted that vagina was the “medically correct term”, adding: “We’re all adults here.”

Both women were ban from speaking the rest of the day.  Seriously…These guys can’t say the word Vagina in front of women?  I know what kind of language they use around other men and I’m sure right after all of this hullabaloo they probably called them Bitches for having…what’s that call…oh right…differing opinions.  I guess the poor sensitive men never use the word penis either.  It’s just so offensive.  You know what I say…GROW UP!  You can put women’s health at risk but you can even used the terminology for the very part of the body affected by your legislation?

One response

  1. Maybe with them it’s just all about “v” words.

Leave a Reply

