Father’s Day – My Dad

Every year for the last 40 years I have observed Father’s Day without a Father.  My Father died very young and that in turn meant I was very young. I always thought it very odd that being they only kid in school who didn’t have a Dad.  Every Father’s Day my teachers would have me make a Father’s Day gift.  When I would remind them I didn’t have a father they would say…give it to one of your brothers.  That response would seem kind of insensitive to the outside world but to me it was like ‘okay’.  It was a response I was used too.

My Dad was a beautiful baby…

My Dad went to war and survived…

My Dad worked hard to provide for his family…

My Dad Loved Life…

Do I miss not having my Dad…yes I do.  Everyone who has ever met my Dad loved him and thought highly of him.  He was a fair minded man who understood responsibility and family.  He lived his brief life to the fullest.  I hope that one day I can be the person he was in his lifetime.

Leave a Reply

