Truman Capote Made Me Cry But I Forgive Him

I was reading “A Christmas Memory” by Truman Capote today. It was a collection of stories about the holidays actually. He writes in a style that’s just plain and simple and I like that.

I’ve been really nostalgic lately. It happens every year at Thanksgiving and definitely at Christmas. My best friend died at Christmas time almost 6 years ago and the holidays kind of suck. By best friend I mean my Mom.

Truman’s stories made me think of all the stories I can reflect on this year and every year. I’m a sentimental old fool. I think of all those relatives who are gone and all the thoughts are good ones. The parties, I can see my Uncle Bill laughing and my Dad showing my brothers how to blow kisses at the camera. It’s those images that melt away all the darker ones. The year the Super 8 camera didn’t work was one of my favorite. We were all home except one brother. My Mom had located the old Super 8 film camera and it had film in it so she decided to finish out the reel. We opened our presents and laughed so hard we almost cried. Mom noticed the camera wasn’t working properly and instead of us all being bummed out my sister suggested we re-wrap the presents and do it again. We all broke out in a boisterous blast of laughter and agreed. So we re-wrapped the presents, put new batteries in the camera and set off for Christmas presents version 2.0. We had another round of laughs that were boosted by…you guessed it…the camera not working.

That Christmas stays with me because we were all teenagers or older and Mom was so filled with happiness I wish I could frozen that moment. In some ways I have.

So thanks Truman, I forgive you for making me cry today 🙂

Quote from a Book:
“As for me, I could leave the world with today in my eyes”. ~ Truman Capote, A Christmas Memory

Leave a Reply

