The Holiday Rush and Nostalgia

My Mother was right…yes you read it here.  She was right.  Once life picks up speed everything seems to go by in the blink of an eye.

It doesn’t help that everything is so rushed anymore.  Halloween was here and gone before it was really even here.  Thanksgiving is next week and the deluge of Christmas had begun a week after Halloween.  I long for the old days when there was time to enjoy a moment in time, the holidays or just playing a game with the kids.

Recently I went on a day trip with some friends and I looked around at the old towns we drove through and imagined what they were like in the “glory days”.  They were times when things seems simpler but were actually more difficult.  They seemed quieter but probably weren’t.  The romanticism of the old days is hypnotic sometimes and I wish I had a “way back machine” to just be there.  Hey maybe if the Ghost of Christmas Past isn’t too busy I could touch his heart and walk about my past self’s life.

Quote of the Day:

“Choose between yesterday and tomorrow.” ~ Message in a Bottle

1 Comment

  1. Isn’t it funny how the phrase, “The grass is always greener on the other side” also applies when we think about the past. It’s us, I find, who deem the past as green pastures, although when we lived it, we didn’t think so much then. All perception, I guess.

    Woah… got too deep there. Now I have a headache.

Leave a Reply

