A Melody In My Heart

On my way to get a very unhealthy lunch I was stuck in traffic and on the CD player I had Sarah McLachlan’s Mirrorball playing. Her songs have such incredible lyrics. Those of you who know me, know that I’m a SM freak and listen to her all the time. I take a lot of ribbing from my BFF’s because they think her music is depressing but I can’t get enough of it. Her lyrics are poetry…which of course is what Songs are…poetry set to music but something just strikes me about her lyrics.

” The lamp is burnin’ low upon my table top
The snow is softly fallin’
The air is still within the silence of my room
I hear your voice softly callin'” ~ Song For A Winter’s Night

Or these lines….

“I have a smile
stretched from ear to ear
to see you walking down the road

we meet at the lights
I stare for a while
the world around disappears” ~ I Love You

“And I would be the one
to hold you down,
kiss you so hard,
I’ll take your breath away” ~ Possession

I guess it’s just my obsession with poetry that attracts me to this kind of music. I just can’t help myself I love it!!!

Last night I was reading some Rainer Maria Rilke. Which I find I prefer in German than in English….is that weird? Storms also appear quite frequently in what I’m reading right now…or that would be Sturm. One can not live by Shakespeare and Shelley alone!

Leave a Reply

