Reading Is Fundamental

Tonight D and I went to a Q&A with an author of children’s books.  His name is Jordan Sonnenblick and he was very entertaining.

When I was growing up I loathed reading because it was just a laborious thing I did for school.  I’m dyslexic so reading takes a lot longer for me than for other folks and it was just a chore.  When I was a senior in High School I had an English teacher that showed me how to love reading.  The first book I remember ever loving was “The Chosen” by Chaim Potok.  The second book that year was Pearl S. Buck’s “The Good Earth”.  I learned how to read for me.  Sister Roberta Agnes told me that there was no reason I couldn’t read the books.  She showed me how to enjoy books for the first time and I’ll always remember her for that.  Well that and the fact her nick name was “The Goon” (she was assistant disciplinarian).

My favorite book is a tie between “The Notebook” by Nicholas Sparks and “Frankenstein” by Mary Shelley.  They are so different but each I’ve read many times. Christmas time I read “A Christmas Carol” by Charles Dickens.  My book once belonged to my father, whom I’m told, loved to read.

There are so many authors I love to read, like Jane Austen, Kris Radish and Edgar Allen Poe.  I also highlight lines that just stand out for me.

So even though it takes me a while to finish a book I love to read today.  I’m working my way through 1000 books you should read in your lifetime.  And even though some of the books I absolutely could not stand (hello Ethan Fromme) there have been some surprises like Jane Eyre that I absolutely loved.

Pick up a book and give it a go.

Leave a Reply

