RA Is Not OA

I’m not in remission any more.  I miss it.  I have Rheumatoid Arthritis and I recently know two people who died of complications with RA.  First, was a woman I used to work with years ago.  We had mutual friends and when I heard she was dying I was shocked.  The second person was a young woman in my support group.  It made me more determined than ever to do everything I can to push this stupid disease back into remission.

If only it was that easy.  My hands and feet are swollen all of the time.  I have inflammation of my Costal Joints which makes it painful to move and breathe but I’m luckier than most.  I have a cheerleader who keeps me pumped up.  She doesn’t let me give into the pain.

I’ve always been determined not to let RA define me.  I may have to make adjustments to my life but it will not become the center of my life.  I have too much to do, lol.

OA vs. RA

OA vs. RA

What drives me crazy is those who compare RA with OA (Osteoarthritis).  It’s not the same.  Yes my bones and joints are affected like OA but it is completely different.  I have an autoimmune disease.  My body is attacking itself.  OA is a natural wearing of your joints.  It’s not the same.

Please stop telling me if I drink Apple Cider Vinegar I will be healed…because I won’t.  Stop telling me its mind over matter…because it’s not.  Please stop telling me you were healed by your Chiropractor because I won’t be healed by an adjustment.  So in short…Just stop.  I thank you for your concern but you don’t know what you are talking about.

That is all.

2 thoughts on “RA Is Not OA

  1. I’m so sorry about your RA. Your post made me think of what my boyfriend goes through with people who do not understand/know what they are talking about, he has AS (ankylosing spondylitis), and people say the same things and they have no clue about the disease. Most of his spine has fused together from the neck down and he cannot even turn his head, while his knees, ankles, etc are swollen most of the time. I even experience the same interactions with people when it comes to my own serious illness. People seem to assume everything is fixable, but unfortunately there is not a miracle drug/herbal remedy out there and their “suggestions” to ‘do this or that’ just become tedious and frustrating to hear after a while.
    We will keep you in our thoughts, stay strong, and best wishes to you and your family!
    -Criscilla

  2. Thank you Criscilla. I hop you and your boyfriend have some days of relief. With long term illnesses we know we hope for the one day of feeling good. Well people do not understand this and that one day of feeling good means we do not have to take pain meds or we can get out of bed without holding our breath from the pain. Thank you for your comments and you are both in my thoughts too. Be well, be strong!

Leave a Reply

