Let The New Book Competition Begin

Last year we had a little Book Competition going.  It was at first who could read the most books.  It then became so much more.  I’m not a fast reader and I’m okay with that.  I knew I wouldn’t win and I was okay with that too.  I did read the most books I’ve ever read.  I read 42 books last year and I’m dang proud of myself.  You can see my list of books read to the right.  I had many goals for myself this year one of which was to finish reading the Harry Potter Series.  Large books always intimidated me in the past but Harry taught me that a big book can whiz by if its fun, exciting and most of all captivating.  J.K. Rowling did just that with her character Harry Potter.  Some I liked more than others (The Goblet of Fire was my favorite of the series) but I read the whole series!

Books
This year we’ve changed the competition up a little and I’m not sure if I have a chance of winning but most of all I’m going to have fun with it.  I’m determined to tackle authors that I wouldn’t naturally think I would like to read.  I don’t want to take a chance of missing that one five star book because I’m not sure of the author.  My plan is to read Stephen King, More Michael Crichton and Ken Follett.  To try and hit a few of the classics.  I think if I stay away from my arch-nemesis Edith Wharton I should be fine.

What books are you reading or hope to read in 2013?  I’m always looking for suggestions ;)

4 thoughts on “Let The New Book Competition Begin

  1. I am reading the collection of Sharat Chandra Chattapdhay:) not sure if all his books are worth reading for everyone but do read Srikanta if you can. I saw they got it translated in english and this is one of his most famous books. I am also planning to read some of the russian classics that’s long overdue…check out the page “100+ books in a year” on my blog for updates on books that I am reading…looking froward to see your adventure with books this year:)

  2. Cool idea. I am in a reading rut! The last few years I have been obsessed with Jill Mansell and Sophie Kinsella,but have read everything up to date (except the shopaholic series). Also, I am in a chic lit rut! Must try something different. Maybe a Stephen King would be a good change of pace.
    Good luck!

  3. @Roadtomed…Thanks for the suggestions. I’m always looking for something different than what I normally read. I’ve tried the Russian Classics and I struggled with Dostoyevsky. Tolstoy was a little easier for me though. I look forward to your adventure as well :)

  4. @Punkycoletta…Love Sophie Kinsella. I’ve only read her Shopaholic books but I found them whimsical and fun. For Chic Lit I like Kris Radish. She writes stories where women are central and about their relationships with each other and other people. Everyone has been raving about Stephen King’s 11/22/63 so I’m thinking I would love to start reading that soon :)

Leave a Reply

